Marketplaces

App help

Product updates

How do you handle failed payments?

Mathias Avatar

|

Posted

|

Last updated

Automatic retries

When a subscription charge is attempted and it fails, we will do automatic retries.

The retries do not follow a fixed schedule and happen when our payment gateway deems it is a good time to do a retry.

How will we notify you?

We will notify you about a failed payment when you are inside the dashboard using a notification that will pop up in the top right of the screen.

We will also send you automatic emails notifying you that the charge was unsuccessful, asking you to update your payment method.

Failed payment notification - first email
Failed payment notification – first email

Pre-billing notication

We send a pre-billing notification via email 2 days before we charge your payment method on file. This gives you time to update your payment details if needed.

Example pre-billing email notification
Example pre-billing email notification

Pre-payment notification of expiring credit card

We also show a pre-payment notification inside the Img Dashboard if your credit card is about the expire.

Example of credit card notification in the Img dashboard
Example of credit card notification in the Img dashboard

Consequences of not paying

When you have failed to pay for your subscription for at least 1 week, your account dashboard will go into lockdown. This means you won’t be able to navigate through your dashboard anymore. You will only be able to update your payment method or cancel your subscription. Your images and videos are unaffected, they remain in your drive and they remain online if they are online.

Updating your payment method will cause our payment gateway to immediately try to bill you. If that is successful, your dashboard immediately unlocks.

After several weeks of trying to collect your payment, your subscription will be automatically cancelled. Your drive will be moved to the Free plan. Images above the 100 image limit will be put offline. Ex-customers get a grace period of several weeks, after which your offline images will be purged from our servers. The images that fit under the Free plan’s 100 online images limit, will remain online but will be watermarked with an ad for Img.vision. Videos are not supported on the free plan and will go offline and be deleted shortly after.


Mathias Avatar

Posted

|

Last updated